Got back from vacation this past sunday after about 23 days. Spent 2 days in Covington, Ga. w/my sis & then May 1st made it to the Cabin I rented for 30 days in Franklin, NC. When I got into Franklin I followed the map to the cabin. It was 12 miles from Franklin on hwy.28. After we turned off of 28 the roads were almost at a 45 degree & gravel. The only way my Chevy HHR could make it up the roads was in 1st gear in my automatic trans. When I made it to the cabin it was about a half mile. Almost decided to forget it & go home. We thought about it for awhile & decided we didn’t want to lose our money that we paid in advance.($1000.00)

So we stuck it out for about 17 days. The last 2 days before we left we couldn’t even make it up the road because it was so slick & the front wheels would spin. There was a rain coming & we didn’t want to get stuck up there without any way to get into town, so, we left the next day. This is our last trip to NC. At our age it’s getting to hard to make that 14 hr. drive. Coming back we stopped about 3pm in Cordele, Ga. at a Hampton Inn & spent the nite. All nite long there were trains running about every hour about a block from the Inn. Blowing horns for about 10 mins. ea. time.

Then we stopped in Ocala, Fl. at a cousins house for 4 days before heading home. The initial vacation time was supposed to be from April 28th to June 7th. But things happen. Next year will stay in Florida & try to find a place on the beach on the west coast or stay in St.Augustine at the beach. Won’t know until time gets closer. Got garage sales in Nov. 2011 & Feb.2012 to raise money for vacation.

Since I’ve been home I’ve been having a few problems staying busy. I’m in a no work moad. After laying around for almost 3 weeks & watching TV everyday I’ve become quite lazy. I tried to work in the trainroom today, but the laziness kicked in again. So, decided to take some pictures of the engines & stuff I want to sell on the Modelrailroad Forums & spent about an hour doing that. Then went in the house & downloaded all of the photo’s out of my camera to the puter. Then the wife & me went to a Church outing here in town for the Memorial day holiday. had Watermellon, Tomatoes, Corn on the Cob, salads, some soda’s & did a lot of fellowshipping w/people I hadn’t seen for 2 or 3 years. I didn’t realize that there were so many old people at my age(72) still around. Lots of heart attacks going around. Lots of real heavy people around too.

Good thing I decided to start riding my bike again this morning. Maybe if I keep doing that the Lazies will leave & I can get back to work on the layout. Gotta lotta to do.

About tlc2011

My Hobby is HO Scale Model Railroading & some Digital Photography. I'm retired & married.

Leave a Reply

